Thursday, June 9, 2016

10 Books To Read If You Loved Girl On The Train

10 Books to Read if you love Gone Girl or Girl on the Train, 10 suspense books similar to Gone girl and Girl on the Train, summer 2016 best suspense books, Pottery barn turner sectional white, all white couch with colored pillows, Fitz Gemma mini golden doodle f1b, striped throw blanket, chaser i love coffee tee, honeydew intimidates striped jogger pants, Emily Gemma blog, The Sweetest Thing Blog, Little Design Co leopard print pillows, striped pillows and leopard pillows on white couch,

10 Books to Read if you love Gone Girl or Girl on the Train, 10 suspense books similar to Gone girl and Girl on the Train, summer 2016 best suspense books, Pottery barn turner sectional white, all white couch with colored pillows, Fitz Gemma mini golden doodle f1b, striped throw blanket, chaser i love coffee tee, honeydew intimidates striped jogger pants, Emily Gemma blog, The Sweetest Thing Blog, Little Design Co leopard print pillows, striped pillows and leopard pillows on white couch,

10 Books to Read if you love Gone Girl or Girl on the Train, 10 suspense books similar to Gone girl and Girl on the Train, summer 2016 best suspense books, Pottery barn turner sectional white, all white couch with colored pillows, Fitz Gemma mini golden doodle f1b, striped throw blanket, chaser i love coffee tee, honeydew intimidates striped jogger pants, Emily Gemma blog, The Sweetest Thing Blog, Little Design Co leopard print pillows, striped pillows and leopard pillows on white couch, The luckiest girl alive, The pocket wife, the obsession,

10 Books to Read if you love Gone Girl or Girl on the Train, 10 suspense books similar to Gone girl and Girl on the Train, summer 2016 best suspense books, Pottery barn turner sectional white, all white couch with colored pillows, Fitz Gemma mini golden doodle f1b, striped throw blanket, chaser i love coffee tee, honeydew intimidates striped jogger pants, Emily Gemma blog, The Sweetest Thing Blog, Little Design Co leopard print pillows, striped pillows and leopard pillows on white couch, pretty girls, the silent girls, luckiest girl alive, the kind worth killing, the obsession,
COFFEE TEE (runs small - size up) | STRIPED PJS (I sized up for comfort) | PILLOWS via Little Design Co | COUCH via Pottery Barn | GLASSES (Gucci via Harrel Eye Care) | 'WIFEY' COFFEE MUG | SIMILAR THROW (wait but how funny is this coffee mug???) 

I've been getting asked more than usual 'what book are you reading?' because its become a common thing to share that with you all since many of us have the same taste in books! I hope you all will share recommendations in the comments because right now I'm not reading anything and can't get into the ones I have recently downloaded. Anyway, Cait & I keep saying we want to start a book club because she and I enjoy the same books and always pass titles back & forth. Wouldn't that be fun though!? 

I remember reading Gone Girl & loving it - and soon after finishing it I googled 'books similar to Gone Girl' and apparently I was not the first to google that! One of the books that was recommended as similar to Gone Girl was Girl on the Train.. another that I loved. Depending on what is going on in my life, I use Audible or Kindle. I mainly use Audible if I am having to drive long distances or if I'm on an elliptical kick. (currently not on an elliptical kick but it does pass the time, PTL!) Okay, I get off subject easy but what I am trying to say is I wanted to share some of the books that I loved and recommend if you, too, enjoyed reading Gone Girl or Girl on the Train. The following books were ones that had mystery and were page turners for me.. I have several more that I have liked but these are the 10 best!

1. Luckiest Girl Alive by Jessica Knoll 
Commonly recommended as similar to GG & GOTT - it was very good but out of these 10 - it was not my favorite!
2. The Pocket Wife by Susan Crawford
This one is pretty easy to get into & is a quick read! 
3. Dear Darling by Elizabeth Little
Takes a little bit to get into this one but it ended up being twisted and very good. 
4. The Good Girl by Mary Kubica
 Read this right after Girl on the Train and liked it as much if not more. 
5. Don't Try to Find Me by Holly Brown 
This one was easy to get into and was a page turner.
6. The Kind Worth Killing by Peter Swanson 
Oh this was super twisted and hard to put down!
7. The Silent Girls by Eric Rickstad 
This was a recent read - I think I finished it on two flights coming home from somewhere?! So addictive.
8. Pretty Girls by Karin Slaughter 
Out of the ones I've read the past couple of months - this was 1 out of 2 favorites -- another page turner with a story line you can easily get into & follow.
9. The Girl With No Past by Kathryn Croft 
My mom actually recommended this one.. so far when I tell friends to read it they are just like me and read it quickly because its just good! It has some twists & a crazy story line.
10. The Obsession by Nora Roberts 
Cait texted me about this one last week and I read it in a matter of days! I've tried to get into her books 'The Liar' & 'The Search' and neither are as good as this one!

I'll have to do another post soon with just a few of the books I'm reading and loving that aren't necessarily similar to GG & GOTT. If you do have some books that you loved, similar to those books - leave them in comments so I can read them! I need a good book to read this weekend! <3

58 comments:

  1. You are too cute!! Nothing better than getting cozy and reading a book! Thanks for the recommendations!

    xo,
    Sara Kate Styling

    ReplyDelete
  2. Thanks for the book recommendations, super cute photos!

    Blonde in Cashmere

    ReplyDelete
  3. I chose to investigate each substance and I read yours. My compliment about this blog is exceptionally positive I visit this blog first time and inspire by this good stuff work. Incredible post keeps up posting such great information. Have this professional resume writing service for a mind blowing resume for your job search.

    ReplyDelete
  4. What fitness band do you have? Saw it on snapchat and love it!

    ReplyDelete
  5. You should read anything by Kate Morton! They always have twists and turns just like Girl on the Train or Gone Girl but they usually shift between present day and the early 1900s. "The Forgotten Garden" and "The Secret Keeper" are my absolute favorites!

    www.rosyoutlookblog.com

    ReplyDelete
  6. This is such a great post and different from your usual. Where I love your fashion and often purchase items you wear, this really shows me more about who you are as a person. Can't wait to get a few of these for the summer! Thanks for this post.
    xo, Lee
    www.wineandcouture.com

    ReplyDelete
  7. I really enjoyed reading The Nightingale. You will experience every emotion reading it, just warning you.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I read The Nightingale on the beach last summer. Could NOT put it down... other women would stop me and ask me how it is because they were waiting for a copy at their local library. Read it. SO good.

      Delete
  8. Great picks! I've been dying to read a few of these!

    xx,
    Lauren
    FashionablyLo

    ReplyDelete
  9. I have got to get into reading more. I always love when I find a good book but never try new ones afterwards for months!

    xo Jessica
    My Style Vita

    ReplyDelete
  10. You should read the Cormoran Strike series by Robert Galbraith - they're murder mysteries but really, really well thought out and keeps you guessing. I also like them because there's a real story line. The books in this series are "The Cuckoo's Calling", "The Silkworm", and "Career of Evil". All SO good and page turners, I couldn't put them down!

    ReplyDelete
  11. I need to get into reading more. Thanks for the recommendations!

    Xo - Steph

    www.Urbanblonde.com

    ReplyDelete
  12. OMG, i was hoping you would do a post on what your reading, i need inspiration for that.....i was in a slump.....thank you thank you

    ReplyDelete
  13. Great choices! The Silent Wife by ASA Harrison is another good one!

    Amy
    http://thehautehydrangea.com/

    ReplyDelete
  14. Glad you found The Silent Girls addictive. Cheers, Eric

    ReplyDelete
  15. I really want to take First Comes Love, the one you had in your last handbag post, with me on vacation. I'm not crazy about swimming and my husband is, so I'm hoping it will do well to pass some time for me.

    ReplyDelete
  16. If you like romance and kind of historical fiction mystery mixed with time travel, I HIGHLY RECOMMEND the Outlander series by Diana Gabaldon. There is show right now on Stars based on it, but the books are soooooooo much better, and simply amazing, once you get past the first few chapters in book one. It was a little slow at first, but well worth diving in. Jamie and Claire are a couple to just love and if you love anything Scottish, totally perfect for you!

    ReplyDelete
  17. I have been in the market for a good book. Thanks for sharing. :)

    Rachel
    Simply Rachel Nicole

    ReplyDelete
  18. The Kind Worth Killing looks amazing!
    Jabeen x
    http://www.spilling-the-beans.co.uk/

    ReplyDelete
  19. So you're adorable! love this post...I need to get back into reading again...seems ahrd to find the time, maybe after my wedding in August I'll take my wedding planning time and use it for reading! I love this recommendation list, thank you! If you're into romantic novels - Emily Giffin is the best! XO

    @stylemelauren
    http://www.stylemelauren.com

    ReplyDelete
  20. The Kind Worth Killing is on my reading list.
    and Karin Slaughter books are awesome.. so messed up but so good. Tryptich and Undone are both very good..

    ReplyDelete
  21. It's so encouraging seeing that girls my age still love to read. I literally always have a book with me. I love mostly fiction and read more than I watch TV. I also can't read on a tablet. I love the smell of books. Glad to see you are sharing this with your readers. I love it!

    http://www.prettyyellowthings.com

    ReplyDelete
  22. I've actually been looking for a new book to read on vacation and I'm going to check these out! Thanks so much, you look lovely♥

    www.pamelayaquelin.blogspot.com

    ReplyDelete
  23. The Secret Life of Violet Grant by Beatriz Williams. This is my go-to book for recommendations! I absolutely loved it.

    ReplyDelete
  24. I love love love this post!! Girl on the train was one of my favorite books and I've been looking for some new Summer reads!! I will def check some of these out!

    http://www.mrscasual.com

    ReplyDelete
  25. Thanks for the recommendations!! I HIGHLY recommend you to read "Me Before You" and the sequel "After You." The sequel is not as good as the first book, but it makes your emotions run high.

    ReplyDelete
  26. I pretty much just ordered all of these. I am obsessed with reading, especially these types of books. I loved The Lake House by Kate Morton! I could not put it down, and the ending is not what you think! xo

    Shelby Jewel
    www.thememphisjewel.com

    ReplyDelete
  27. I have had Girl on The Train on my "to read" list for a while. My one friend told me I would love it. I can't wait to check out some of your other recommendations too. Thanks :)

    xoLauren
    www.thelavenderskies.com

    ReplyDelete
  28. I've added all of these to my list! If I had my choice, I would spend most of my day reading with a cup of tea!
    Kari
    www.sweetteasweetie.com

    ReplyDelete
  29. Agh I love this post!!! I was an English major and have been obsessed with reading since I was little!

    I lovvveeedddd Gone Girl! I'm not actually a mystery person but a couple years ago my mom wouldn't stop recommending it at then got it for me for Christmas-- which basically forced me to read it haha. Since then, I've read most of Gillian Flynn's other stuff too; just finished Dark Places a few months ago.

    Luckiest Girl Alive is definitely on my list! I feel like a lot of people are loving it. My favorite reads of the past year were The Paris Wife, The Beautiful and Damned, A Moveable Feast, and Pride and Prejudice. I kinda went through a phase where I read any classics I somehow missed in school... Well, not The Paris Wife obviously. But it has the certain old school charm that's present in some of the classics!

    Thanks for the great post! I just pinned it... Now to write down some of the suggestions from other commenters :)

    Xx Maya from Maya Unmarketed

    ReplyDelete
  30. P.s. Do you (or anyone commenting) like self help books? I'm halfway through Seven Habits and the Power of Now. My agent recommended The Four Agreements because I'm such an overthinker, and that's on the list as well... Oh and the of course the book that EVERYONE is raving about right now, The Life Changing Magic of Tidying Up. So many on the list!!

    ReplyDelete
  31. I really recommend "The Widow" by Fiona Barton! My morning news site listed it as another Gone Girl and Girl not the Train-like book. It's really twisted but it has that slow reveal and who did it vibe. Not exactly along the lines of GG or GOTT but I just finished reading "I'm Glad About You" by Teresa Rebeck and "Kitchens of the Great Midwest" by J. Ryan Stradal. Both are a little slow moving at first but very unique story-wise and plot-wise. Also, Scott Westerfeld is a great fiction writer. He writes mainly YA and dystopian books, but his "Uglies" series is so addictive!

    ReplyDelete
  32. Can you add the link for your green pillows? Thanks.

    ReplyDelete
  33. I did the same thing when I finished Gone Girl! I actually read all three Gillian Flynn books, Sharp Objects was my favorite! Girl on the Train was so good too! I'm going to add some of these to my Amazon wishlist, thanks for sharing!

    Laura | Laura Aime Vous

    ReplyDelete
  34. "In a Dark, Dark Wood" by Ruth Ware. I listen to audiobooks on my long drive to work. This was great! Reminded me a lot of GOTT. Thanks so much for posting these! Always looking for good reads!

    ReplyDelete
  35. You would love "Where They Found Her" by Kimberly McCreight. Also "Reconstructing Amelia" is also by her. It's very similar to Gone Girl and is written in many different character perspectives! Thanks for sharing!!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. So strange, I was going to recommend these exact ones. Hello book soul sister!

      Delete
  36. This comment has been removed by the author.

    ReplyDelete
  37. Great post!
    I'll check them out!
    xx
    Mademoiselle Coconath
    http://mllecoconath.com

    ReplyDelete
  38. I also loved both books: gone girl and the girl on the train!
    After that I was introduced to Julie Garwood - The murder list. Trust me it's an awesome book, it's suspense with romance (just like gone girl and the girl on the train). After that, I just wanted to read all her books, also read Fire and Ice by her which connects both stories and I got to see a bit more of the previous characters. Currently on her 3rd book Sizzle.
    Cannot wait to read Me before you!!!
    Anyways, I enjoyed this post very much!
    Thanks,
    Juliana

    ReplyDelete
  39. I am so happy I stumbled upon this post! I loved Gone Girl and some of the others you listed. I'm diving into The Girl With No Past now!! :)

    ReplyDelete
  40. Luckiest Girl Alive has been on my list for a good month now. Can't wait to start!

    BlondieInTheCity.com

    ReplyDelete
  41. great post, nice pics
    http://carrieslifestyle.com

    ReplyDelete
  42. Thank you so much for sharing! I love good mysteries & these sound like an epic list! I recently read 'Sharp Objects' by Gillian Flynn - amazing!

    www.blushandbordeaux.com

    ReplyDelete
  43. I love that we have the same taste in books!! Have you read Gillian Flynn's other books?? Sharp Objects and Dark Places are even more twisted than Gone Girl and so so good!! You would also love Pretty Baby and The Good Girl by Mary Kubica!! Very easy reads with good plot twists! I also recently read Where They Found Her by Kimberly McCreight and it was amazing!!! Loving the book club idea!!!

    ReplyDelete
  44. Love your lifestyle posts! I'm currently reading Me Before You. It's SO good. Definitely worth reading!

    Brooke du jour
    www.brookedujour.com

    ReplyDelete
  45. 3 of my absolute favorites:

    Same Kind of Different as Me by Ron Hall & Denver Moore
    Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet by Jamie Ford
    The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Annie Barrows & Mary Ann Shaffer

    I PROMISE YOU.............THEY WERE AMAZING!!!!!!

    ReplyDelete
  46. I also loved GG and GOTT, and while not the same story line, I LOVED Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty. It was a bestseller and they're making it into a movie in 2017- would definitely recommend if you like suspense and a good twist at the end :)

    ReplyDelete
  47. Thank you for this list! I just got done with GOTT and need a new book!!! Perfect timing!

    ReplyDelete
  48. Will defenitely have a look at the books you recomended!
    You should try Black Eyed Susans by julia haeberlin. I read it a few weeks ago, the beginnning is a bit slow but eventually the story sucks you in. I litrrally spent every minute reading because i had tomknow the ending

    ReplyDelete
  49. Great list! Another book you might enjoy is "Try Not to Breathe" be Holly Seddon. She is a British author as well. Happy summer reading : )
    Shelley

    ReplyDelete
  50. I love these at-home photos! Super cute.

    Best,

    Candace
    www.liveloveandREAD.com

    ReplyDelete
  51. Such a great list! I always love finding new books to read! :)

    Jordan: The Teacup of Style
    Instagram: @teacupofstyle

    ReplyDelete
  52. Big Little Lies by Lianne Moriarty was incredible. The rest of Gillian Flynn's books are also completely twisted. I really enjoyed Kimberly McCrieght's last two as well, recommended upthread. I love seeing what other people are reading and recommending, thanks for the post! You should join Goodreads, it's like Facebook for book lovers.

    ReplyDelete
  53. Read "All the Missing Girls" by Megan Miranda, very similar to both GG and TGOTT!
    -Emily
    lareinerambles.blogspot.com

    ReplyDelete
  54. The Good Girl is my favorite of all. It is way better than TGOTT. Recommended The Good Girl to my friend who also have read TGOTT and we share the same sentiments. I loved that you put The Kind Worth Killing on your list because that book is awesome and I don't see a lot of people mentioning it online. Read it guys. Trust me! haha

    ReplyDelete

Thank you so much for your comments - it means the world! I always try to reply if you leave a question. If you do not have an address set-up, I can’t reply though!

 

design + development by kelly christine studio